Attractions

Arts Center – Summer Dinner Theatre

Experience a traditional Newfoundland time as we regale you with tales from “round our shore”. A mix of fact and fiction, comedy and tragedy, past and present, our Summer Dinner Theatre sure to please. Open June 26 – Sept. 4 (7pm Tue., Thur., and Fri). Telephone: 1(888)432 2052; Fax: 1(709)432 2154; E-mail kmooney@nf.aibn.com; Web site: www.ssfac.com.

Colony of Avalon Archaeology Site

An archaeology site featuring excavations of Lord Baltimore’s colony dating to 1621, interpretation centre, conservation labratory, 17th century reproduction kitchen, heritage gardens, and giftshop. Open May 16 – Oct 4 (open 7 days a from 10 am – 6 pm) P. O. Box 119, Ferryland, NL, Canada, A0A 2H0. Telephone: 1(709)432 3200; toll free: 1(877)326 5669; E-mail: info@colonyofavalon.ca; Web site: www.colonyofavalon.ca

East Coast Trail – Capelin Bay Path

5.2 km. trail between Calvert and Ferryland. Allow 1.2 – 2.0 hours. Easy. Attractions include offshore islands, meadows, cobble beaches, old railway route, stone church, eay family walking. April 1 – Nov. 30; Telephone: 1(709)738 4453; Fax: 1(709)738 1122; E-mail: office@eastcoasttrail.com; Web site: www.eastcoasttrail.com

East Coast Trail – Sounding Hills Path

5.5 km. trail between Ferryland and Aquaforte. Allow 2 – 3 hours. Easy/Moderate. Attractions include Colony of Avalon, Arts Center, lighthouse, picnicking, cobble beach, waterfall. April 1 – Nov. 30; Telephone: 1(709)738 4453; Fax: 1(709)738 1122; E-mail: office@eastcoasttrail.com; Web site: www.eastcoasttrail.com

Ferryland Lighthouse – Lighthouse Picnics

Built in 1870 the light is the location for Lighthouse Picnics, a unique venture that offers exquisite food in combination with history, culture, and whale watching. A 25 minute hike. Open May 24 – Oct. 15 (daily 11:30 am – 4.30 pm. Closed Mondays and Tuesday) P. O. Box 100, Ferryland, NL, Canada, A0A 2H0. Telephone: 1(709)363 7456; E-mail: jill@lighthousepicnics.ca; Web site: www.lighthousepicnics.ca

Festival Park – Southern Shore Shamrock Festival

The finest in traditional Newfoundland/Irish music, song, and dance, performed by local and established musicians. July 27 – 28, 2013. 1 pm – 6 pm and 8:30 pm – 1 am on July 27. 1 pm – 7 pm on July 28. P. O. Box 235, Ferryland, NL, Canada, A0A 2H0; Telephone: 1(709)432 2052: Toll free: 1(888)332 2052; Fax: 1(709)432 2154; E-mail: kmooney@nf.aibn.com; Web site: www.ssfac.com

Historic Ferryland Museum

Located in the old courthouse overlooking Ferryland Downs and Isle aux Bois, the museum offers views of the harbour and surrounding countryside. The Fisherman’s Room depicts the life of those hardy men to whom Lord Baltimore bequeathed “this place” on his departure in 1529. The museum is a short walk from the Colony of Avalon on Route 10. Open June 16 – Sept 1. P. O. Box 3, Ferryland, NL, Canada, A0A 2H0. Telephone: 1(709)432-2711; Fax: 1(709)432-2209; E-mail: maxinedunne@hotmail.com.

Holy Trinity Church

Built in 1865 in the gothic revival style, Holy Trinity is the last of five stone churches built during this period in Newfoundland. Ferryland was the birthplace of religious tolerance and freedom of worship in the New World after Lord Baltimore’s arrival in 1621. The church is located in the heart of Ferryland on Route 10. Open July 1 – Sept. 7; P. O. Box 195, Ferryland, NL, Canada, A0A 2H0; Telephone: 1(709)432-2127; Fax: 1(709)432-2209.